diets, diet, dieting

August 18, 2009 at 11:32 pm (Uncategorized)

No, I’m not going on a diet.

I just randomly went and looked at the diet blogs a friend of mine and a couple of her friends have, and I realized that just reading these – skimming, really, about a day’s food intake and “cheats” and “being bad” and “why I’m fat” and “I want to be skinny – was making my stomach clench. No, really. Apparently I have grown totally intolerant of diet talk. Which I sort of knew, already, but what a way to confirm it.

I’m actually eating way less these days, but not because of trying to lose weight. I had some fucked-up dental work done, and because of that I am getting food wedged between teeth where it really shouldn’t be. And then I try to get it out and flay open my gums. And then the next time I try to eat it all gets packed in against the still-sore gums. Ow. I am actually limiting my food choices and eating less because I’m afraid of my mouth hurting – I had a really hard time last night when we went out for my dad’s birthday dinner (another post on birthday rituals should be forthcoming) and had to stop eating when I wasn’t really ready to, and take tylenol when I got home. Ow. But I have a consultation coming up, and maybe I can make them fix their own shoddy work so I can eat normally again. It’s bad when I am avoiding fruits and vegetables because the seeds are really awful at getting stuck in my teeth. I want to eat nothing but cucumbers and tomatoes and berries, but I can’t. Because I would cry. A lot.

3 Comments

  1. bri said,

    You have been added to the Fatosphere feed : )

    cheers
    Bri

  2. Catgal said,

    I found out not too long ago that one of my BEST FRIENDS is a diet blogger! I was horrified! She’s reading (and may even be in) Shape magazine, she’s running marathons, and spinning, she’s the same size that she has always been (with fluctuations of course).

    My issue is that for as long as I have known her 15+ years now, she has ALWAYS been on a diet, and that makes me sad becuase I know how much she loves food.

    I am very happy for and supportive of her new active lifestyle, hell, I may even be a little bit jealous… But I just can’t read her blog. I am secretly plotting to introduce her to HAES. Maybe she can stop trying to change her body and continue with her active life.

  3. vintagejenta said,

    ACK! Dieting is evil. I try to eat healthily (lots of fruits & veggies, not so much meat), but I do not skimp on the butter, olive oil, sugar, etc. I want my food to taste good, dammit, but I don’t want it to taste like McDonald’s.

    I really like your blog. I just discovered it, and I highly approve of your intuitive eating! Stop when you’re full, don’t eat things that make you feel sick (for me it’s caffeine after noon), and try to get some moderate exercise occasionally.

    Honestly, a lot of people need to change their eating habits, including skinny people, (mainly, eating more vegetables!) but that’s not really the same as going on a diet, which in my mind is just a way to completely destroy your self-confidence, self-worth, and self-esteem. It makes even scarily skinny people think that they are fat. And that’s retarded.

    So yay to you for fighting the good fight! Please keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

