the unwanted restriction

April 25, 2010 at 9:32 am (Uncategorized)

Oh, hello there, poor blog. And again I’ve neglected you – over two months without an update. I think some of that’s because I’ve just been keepin’ on keepin’ on, as it were. I also tend to do brief comments on SA and HAES on my Tumblr when that stuff pops up on my dashboard. Dunno.

At any rate: my teeth are jacked up. I am fortunate enough to have dental insurance, but my dentist sucks and he’s the only one in the area who’s on our plan. And he keeps messing up the spacing between my teeth, so when I eat, stuff gets packed in really tight and makes chewing painful. Flossing is the only way to get it out, but so much food gets stuck in there that I usually end up flaying my gums open. And then I feel queasy and can’t eat. The worst culprits seem to be meat – those long fibers – and vegetables. Which I would love to eat more of! But I can’t! Because it leads to pain! And it means that I gravitate towards stuff that is softer and less likely to get stuck, but then I feel all logey and gross. Uncool. (I’ve totally written this before, but I just had more work done on the other side of the first problem area, so it’s been an issue lately.) And I think I’m actually losing weight because of it, but? I don’t want to. I don’t really give a shit about losing weight but I’m pissed that it’s happening because I can’t eat properly and I’m hungry all the time. I wouldn’t diet intentionally, and I resent that I’m doing it out of pain avoidance. FAIL.

I age out of this insurance plan (well, COBRA for my parent-supplied insurance) this fall. I hope to god I can find a dentist who will help me fix my teeth so I can eat normally.

1 Comment

  1. HealthyForMe said,

    Hey, girl! I’m enjoying your blog!
    Hmmm definitely sounds like you need a new dentist. Might look into maybe going to a different one farther away – the longer drive maybe worth it to get good care.

    Until you get them fixed I recommend using your blender more often. Fruit and veggie smoothies rock! :D Maybe eat more soups and stews until your teeth feel better?

    Good luck, sugar! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

