so proud of her

February 2, 2008 at 4:39 am (Uncategorized) (, )

My sister called me a little while ago. She’s performing in her high school’s production of The Vagina Monologues this spring. So you can imagine how stoked she was to get to see Eve Ensler speak at one of the local colleges.

The phone call went something like this:

“OMG I HUGGED EVE ENSLER TWICE! I MET HER AND I GOT HER AUTOGRAPH AND I GOT A PICTURE WITH HER AND SHE HUGGED ME TWICE! BEST NIGHT OF MY LIFE!!!1!”

I am so freaking proud of her. And proud of myself, for guiding her towards respecting herself and others, for helping her understand how important feminism is, for encouraging her to try things because she wants to. When she thinks that Eve Ensler is more awesome than the emo-punk band boys she met last year? I have done my job well.

Leave a Reply

