enough is enough

April 27, 2008 at 12:17 am (Uncategorized)

Long time no post, I know. But I had exams, and then going home for Passover, and now I’m gearing up for the end of term.

I finally had it out with my mom. Which sounds way too harsh for what actually happened. I’ve been trying to gradually get her used to the idea of fat acceptance and that I’m probably not going to diet ever again and that I’m pretty much happy with the size of my ass. But she always goes “Yes, and if you ever DO lose weight…” And I know she’s trying to be supportive and whatever, and she’s afraid of the family history of stroke and heart disease and type II diabetes. Still, though.

And I finally just told her: dieting makes me wig out, and more importantly it triggers bingeing, and that combined with depression equals serious bad times. And I think she got it. I know that she had vague problems with eating disorders when she was a teenager (due to her mom being insane and evil) but not the details, but I think that that awareness combined with me finally laying it out for her like that made her get it. We’ll see.

I should write more about her relationship with food and how that ties in with mine. And about Passover and the feast we had. But it’s late and I’ve had a drink and I think those will be posts for another day.

2 Comments

  1. mochaquest said,

    Interesting piece of work. It would be nice if we can exchange links. Please let me know if it is ok. Do email me at arrica.lee@gmail.com

  2. WeightingGame said,

    Good lord – someone needs to write a book on Jewish mothers and eating disorders/body image. I smell a bestseller….

Leave a Reply

