international no-diet day!

May 6, 2009 at 8:50 pm (Uncategorized)

It was. And I didn’t buy a copy of Lessons from the Fat-o-sphere from Powells because I want to support my local indie bookstore. (Even if that means asking them to order it or whatever.) Anyway.

So. International No Diet Day. I am all in favor of this, as you well know, because diets make people miserable. And unhealthy. And, often, fatter than they started out. Pointless and awful. So today, as with every other day, I ate like I wasn’t on a diet.

I had a Lunabar for breakfast, because I needed something in my stomach before I went with my mom to her doctor’s appointment. With a cup of iced coffee – my dad makes it and just stores it in the fridge and it’s great. And strong. After the appointment, Mom and I went to Friendly’s for lunch. Neither of us finished our food because we were full. She had a bacon cheeseburger and I had some sort of barbecue chicken melt sandwich thing. After work, my sister picked me up and wanted to go get “comfort food,” because she’s been having a rotten week. So we went to Wendy’s and shared some fries and a Frosty. And then for dinner we had steamed asparagus and some grilled chicken and baby spinach. I put Caesar dressing on mine. And I enjoyed every bite, because it was light and what I wanted after all that grease. But I didn’t feel like I was “being good” or “making up for” what I’d eaten before. I just… needed some fiber. And green vegetables. And then I frosted the cupcakes I made yesterday and had one with a whole bunch of strawberries.

I am full still. And happy. And utterly at peace, because there are so many good things to eat in the world. Because I’m not denying myself what I want to eat when there’s no good reason, I’m not worried about missing out. There are more cupcakes downstairs. I doubt I’ll eat them all tonight in a fit of shame and self-loathing. But I might have one for breakfast tomorrow. I might eat some fried dough at the fair this weekend. I might get some sushi before the concert my BFF and I are going to. I don’t know. Possibilities are great. And when I’m not counting calories I have so much room in my head for other stuff.

Leave a Reply

